## WPA Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes the outstanding contributions that have been instrumental to the success of the Western Psychological Association.

## 2017 WPA Outstanding Service Award

P. Chris Cozby, California State University, Fullerton



Dr. Chris Cozby received his B.A. from University of California, Riverside. He then earned his Ph.D. in social psychology at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Cozby is Emeritus Professor of Psychology at California State University, Fullerton where he taught social psychology, research methods, computer applications, and statistics. He is author (with Scott C. Bates) of *Methods in Behavioral Research* (13ed.), published by McGraw-Hill Education. He is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association.

Dr. Cozby has been a WPA member and frequent convention contributor for many years. After retiring from CSU Fullerton, Dr. Cozby was appointed Executive Officer of WPA in 2007, succeeding Dr. Donald Pannen. He worked tirelessly for WPA until his retirement following the 2016 convention in Long Beach.

He is responsible for many innovations including appointment of a professional convention organizer and bringing a strong online presence to WPA. Our association is indebted to Dr. Cozby for his many contributions; we are pleased to honor Dr. P. Chris Cozby with the 2018 Outstanding Service Award.

## **2017 WPA Outstanding Service Award**

Jodie Ullman, California State University, San Bernardino



Dr. Jodie Ullman received her Ph.D. from UCLA in 1997 in psychology with a specialty in measurement and psychometrics. She has been a professor at CSU San Bernardino since 1996, serving as the Director of the General Experimental Psychology Graduate Program from 2011–2014, the Chair of CSU San Bernardino's Faculty Senate from 2010–2013, and a Special Assistant to the Provost on her campus from 2014–2015. She has also served the American Psychological Association in a variety of roles including Chair of the APA Board of Educational Affairs and the Master's Education Task Force all while publishing over 40 journal articles and book chapters.

Dr. Ullman's service to WPA has been substantial. She has been a long-time reviewer of abstracts for WPA Conventions, she served as the Statistics Workshop Coordinator in 2006 - 2013 and also the overall Convention Program Chair for the 2006 Convention, the Secretary/ Treasurer for 2008–2013, and the President Elect, President, and Past President from 2013–2016. In addition to her leadership service in WPA she is proud to presenter at the Statistics Workshops, the Terman Teaching Conference and the WPA conference. She is a Fellow is both WPA and APA was honored to be awarded the WPA Outstanding Teaching Award in 2012.

## **2016 WPA Outstanding Service Award Anne Duran**, California State University, Bakersfield



Dr. Anne Duran earned her BA at Metropolitan State College (now University) in Denver, Colorado. She earned her MA and PhD in Social Psychology at New Mexico State University. She has been at California State University, Bakersfield, since 2001 (her first day was 9/11!). She teaches Social, Abnormal, and Intro Psychology, as well as the Psychology of Sexual Orientation.

Dr. Duran has attended the Terman Teaching Conference since 2001 and had the opportunity to present a couple of times. She began organizing the Terman together with Beth Rienzi in 2008. She was Coordinator of the Terman Teaching Conference until 2015 (except 2014)

when Heidi Riggio took over during an illness). Through organizing the Terman Conference, Anne has had the opportunity to meet many amazing people who value teaching as much as she does.

WPA is indebted to Dr. Duran for the many contributions that she has made to WPA. We are pleased to honor Dr. Anne Duran with the 2016 Outstanding Service Award.

- 2015 Heidi R. Riggio
- 2014 Delia S. Saenz
- 2013 Jeffery Scott Mio
- 2012 Ronald E. Riggio
- 2011 Diane F. Halpern
- 2010 Dale D. Berger
- 2009 Carrie M. Margolin
- 2008 Beth Rienzi
- 2007 Gordon Bower
- 2006 Ann Ewing
- 2005 Leona Aiken
- 2004 Philip G. Zimbardo
- 2003 Robert L. Solso
- 2000 Mary J. Allen
- 1999 Richard F. Thompson
- 1998 Cheryl L. Spinweber
- 1996 Lisa Gray-Shellberg
- 1995 Donald E. Pannen
- 1994 Robert A. Hicks
- 1993 Joseph D. Matarazzo